Horse Council BC AGM Meeting, 5th November 2023

Present In Person:

Carolyn Farris Sandy Underwood

Joan Chess-Woollacott Wendy Sewell

Tina Knott Dawna Hodgins

Yvonne Darcel Wanda Gust

Nora McCallum Craig Cherrett

Kelly Coughlin Rhiannon King

Sharon Pickthorne Lisa Mander

Present on Zoom:

Sandra Kolberg Drew Harkness

Stephanie MacKay Carolyn Dobbs

Sarah Allison Megan Pinfield

Lynda Atkinson Liz Saunders

Claire Vessey Jill Veitch

Sheila Skene

Jacqueline Kennedy

Kersten Taylor

Maureen Wale

Alane Lublow joined zoom 11:16am.

Not in Attendance: Karen Swantje

1. Call to Order: 11:00am

1. a. Land Acknowledgement- Lynda Atkinson

1. b. Role Call

1. c. Announcement of quorum: achieved.

2. Consent Agenda

Motion 1: Move that the consent agenda be accepted.

Moved: Sharon Pickthorne Seconded: Joan Chess-Woollacott Carried

Motion 2: Move that meeting minutes for December 3rd 2022 be approved.

Moved: Carolyn Farris Seconded: Sharon Pickthorne Carried.

3. Treasurer's Report – Sharon Pickthorne

Note from Sharon: approval of December financials is in November due to COVID delays.

Video Presentation from HCBC Auditor Derek Christo.

b) Questions

Sheila Skene asked if BC Summer Games was the cause of high expenditures in coaching and competitions.

It was confirmed that BC Summer Games was a contributing factor to the high expenditures in these areas.

Sharon Pickthorne commented that the letter recommendations within the audit letter highlight some things that have already been done, this includes segregations of duties, manuals are being created, and the payroll piece has been done.

Motion 3: Move that the 2022 audited financial statements be accepted.

Moved: Sharon Pickthorne Seconded: Yvonne Darcel Carried

Motion 4: Move that d'Abadie Moody be appointed Auditor for 2024.

Moved: Carolyn Farris Seconded: Kersten Taylor Carried

4. Board of Directors Election

Motion 5: Move that Claire Vessey be appointed for a 3-year term to the Board of Directors.

Moved: Dawna Hodgins Seconded: Sheila Skene Carried

Motion 6: Move that Kelly Kennedy be appointed for a 3-year term to the Board of Directors.

Moved: Tina Knott Seconded: Sandra Kolberg Carried

Motion 7: Move that Kersten Taylor be appointed for a 3-year term to the Board of Directors.

Moved: Carolyn Farris Seconded: Joan Chess-Woollacott Carried

Motion 8: Move that Sharon Pickthorne be appointed for a 3-year term to the Board of Directors.

Moved: Tina Knott Seconded: Kersten Taylor Carried

Motion 9: Move that Karen Swantje be appointed for a term until the 2024 AGM to the Board of Directors.

Moved: Joan Chess-Woollacott Seconded: Sandra Kolberg Carried

Motion 10: Move that Nora McCallum be appointed for a term until the 2024 AGM to the Board of Directors.

Moved: Yvonne Darcel Seconded: Carolyn Farris Carried

Motion 11: Move that Wanda Gust be appointed for a term until the 2024 AGM to the Board of Directors.

Moved: Joan Chess-Woollacott Seconded: Nora McCallum Carried

Motion 12: Move that Yvonne Darcel be appointed for a term until the 2024 AGM to the Board of Directors.

Moved: Sharon Pickthorne Seconded: Dawna Hodgins Carried

5. Questions from members

A question was asked about when the next AGM will be.

It was confirmed to be late May/early June.

Liz Saunders asked if we could have biographies provided on the newly appointed board members.

It was noted that this is something that can be provided to the membership in future.

6. Adjournment

Motion 13: Moved to adjourn Liz Saunders (no seconder required)

Meeting ended at 11:28am.