Ottawa, ON, Feb. 10, 2016 – Equine Canada’s (EC) Nominating Committee is pleased to announce the slate of eight (8) candidates that have been selected for presentation to EC’s voting members.

EC’s Nominating Committee members are:

Jorge Bernhard Chair (non-voting)
Mark Samuel Category A Representative
Karen Sparks Category A Representative
Susan Thompson Category B Representative
Diane Goyette Category B Representative
Michael Boyd Category C Representative
Richard Mackenzie Category C Representative

In accordance with the Call for Nominations that was issued Jan. 6, 2016 and the timelines provided at that time, thirteen (13) applications were received by Feb. 1, 2016. The Nominating Committee interviewed all applicants and unanimously agreed on the eight (8) candidates.

Per Bylaw 4.2 a) there are six (6) Director positions to be filled by election in 2016:
• Four (4) positions will be for a three-year term ending in 2019.
• Two (2) positions will be for a two-year term ending in 2018.
The eight (8) candidates for the ballot are as follows:
1. Lisa Lazarus – QC
2. Dominique Chagnon – QC
3. Michael Horgan – ON
4. Frédéric Pierrestiger – QC
5. Terrance Millar – ON
6. Doug Orr – AB
7. Ross Millar – ON
8. Allan Ehrlick – ON
Further information on the candidates, including curricula vitae and letters of interest can be found here.

The successful candidates will be elected by the 27 voting members from Categories A, B, and C, as defined in the Equine Canada Governance Policy Manual. The final results will be announced March 25, 2016.

EC thanks all applicants who submitted their name for consideration, as well as the Nominating Committee members for undertaking a thorough recruitment and selection process.

– 30 –

EC Media Contact:
Jessie Christie
[email protected]