Ottawa, ON, April 25, 2016 – Equine Canada (EC) honoured some of Canada’s outstanding equestrians and supporters during the 2016 EC Annual Awards Gala, presented by Boehringer Ingelheim, held Friday, April 22, 2016 in Montreal, QC.

Held in conjunction with the EC Annual Convention, April 20-24, the Gala took place at the iconic Dalhousie Station, home of Cirque Éloize, and celebrated the national award recipients for 2015, and their impressive achievements within the equestrian community.

“We’re thrilled to recognize this outstanding group of individuals, organizations, and horses,” said 2015 EC President, Al Patterson, who presented National Awards during the Gala. “The 2015 recipients represent some of the most dedicated ambassadors of equestrian sport and industry. Congratulations to all the deserving winners.”

The following 2015 award recipients were recognized for their equestrian-related achievements. For further information, simply click on the name of the recipient:


Gold Medal Award

TORONTO 2015 Pan Am Games – Canadian Show Jumping Team

Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Gillian Lawrence

Volunteer of the Year, Presented by Henry Equestrian Insurance Brokers Ltd.

Terre O’Brennan

Builder of the Year

TORONTO 2015 Pan Am Games Equestrian Volunteers

Equestrian of the Year – The Dr. George Jacobson Trophy

Chris von Martels

Junior Equestrian of the Year – The Gillian Wilson Trophy, Presented by Asmar Equestrian

Kassidy Keith

Owner of the Year, Presented by the Equine Canada Owners Club

Don J. Good

Sponsor of the Year


Canadian Bred Horse of the Year


Breeder: Jill Irving

Owners: Megan and Cathy Lane

Canadian Breeder of the Year, Presented by Equinety

Charlot Farms

Boehringer Ingelheim Equine Canada Health & Welfare Award

Kathy Sunberg

Equine Canada Media Award – The Susan Jane Anstey Trophy

Elizabeth Toth


Jump Canada Recognition Awards

Elizabeth Bordeaux

Marjorie Dennis

Dressage Canada MH Lessard Volunteer of the Year

Cecil Pring

Dressage Canada Horse of the Year


Owner: Robyn Eames

Dressage Canada Athlete of the Year

Chris von Martels

Ron Janzen Memorial Trophy

Robert Gielen


Welsh Pony of the Year

Howran’s Prince Madoc

Owners: Marie Howran & Geneviève Dumais

Morgan Horse of the Year

Tamrac’s Enzo

Owner: Emilie Wendland

Saddlebred Horse of the Year

Foxcroft Firestorm

Owner: Stephanie Brown

Half Arabian Horse of the Year

Lady’s Man WH

Owner: Lana Weatherdon

Arabian Horse of the Year

Sur Teddy’s Magna

Owner: Lorraine Prowse

Saddle Seat Rider of the Year

Mackenzie Leubner

In addition to recognizing the 2015 award winners, the 2016 EC Awards Gala hosted the grand unveiling of the new EC brand, to be launched in June. Attendees also enjoyed a keynote address from FEI President Ingmar De Vos, as well as unique and exciting entertainment from Cirque Éloize performers.

About the Equine Canada Awards Program

EC’s national awards recognition program celebrates the impressive achievements of individuals, equines and organizations who have contributed to the growth and success of our community. For a list of past recipients, click here.


– 30 –


PHOTO – FEI President, Ingmar De Vos provided the Keynote Address during the 2016 EC Awards Gala on April 22, 2016 in Montreal, QC.


PHOTO – Attendees of the 2016 EC Annual Awards Gala were treated to exciting performances by Montreal’s Cirque Éloize.


ALL PHOTOS – © Cealy Tetley –



EC Media Contact:
Jessie Christie
[email protected]